A Change for the Better

File_009

It has been almost two weeks since I have made my health behavior change of choosing healthier snack options. This week, I noticed how my snacking habits change depending on my environment and the group of people I am with. For instance, I had friends who would actually offer me fruit, which made it easy to follow my health behavior change. Lucia, my host mom, also bought some fruits for us this week. She said she would get us something that we have never tried before. I like trying new things, so that was a fun way to pick a healthy snack! I tried nísperos (loquats) for the first time, and they are amazing!

On the other hand, I was very tempted to follow my old habits when I went to a supermarket called Consum with my roommate, Christy. She wanted to get a snack so I went with her to the snack aisle. I was very tempted to get some chips for myself, but I didn’t. I could have bought some healthy snacks, but honestly they were not appealing to me and they were just expensive. I feel like I can make so many excuses to not choosing healthier snack options such as cost and convenience. However, I know what is better for my health in the long run, and I need to remind myself of that the next time I go buy snacks. Next week, I should try to be aware of my environment and be active and mindful in choosing healthier snack options no matter where I am or whom I am with. Hopefully next week will be a better week in adhering to my health behavior change!

 

 

Leave a Reply

